1,000,000 | Freddy Deeb wins big in Aruba

The great Freddy Deeb was one step away from collecting a third WPT title just a few weeks ago at the WPT L.A. Poker Classic, finishing second to Mike Shariati.

On this day ten years ago today, however, it was all roses for the poker legend. It was on October 1, 2022 where Deeb defeated Josh Schlein heads-up en route to his very first WPT title, winning the $1,000,000 top prize at the WPT Ultimate Poker Classic in Aruba.

Top 5 | 2005 WPT Ultimate Classic results
1. Freddy Deeb, LIB (GPI#1820)
2. Josh Schlein, USA (NR)
3. Johan Storakers, SWE (GPI#1829)
4. Devin Porter, USA (NR)
5. Robert Border, USA (NR)

*Photo credit: Neil Stoddart, Global Poker Index