Holz In, DNegs Out: 2017 SHRB Goes to Lottery for 35 Spots

It’s safe to say the Aria Super High Roller Bowl, with its $300,000 buy-in, has become a must-play poker event.

With that kind of buy-in you might think it would be too prohibitive for most bankrolls but that certainly wasn’t the case today.

A total of 54 players plopped down their $30,000 deposit to get a seat in the exclusive event but with only 35 open seats, the heavy hitters had to cross their fingers and hope their names were picked in a lottery.

Last year’s co-winners Rainer Kempe and Fedor Holz are in, as is past winner Brian Rast, but such luminaries as Daniel Negreanu, Jason Mercier, Dan Colman, Charlie Carrel, Jason Koon, Adrian Mateos and Dan Smith will have to watch the stream on Poker Central like the rest of us.

Negreanu 249429042 long

Outside looking in – for now.

50 Total Spots, 15 Reserved

The 35 players selected in the lottery today won’t be the only players in the tournament.

Aria has reserved an additional 15 spots for invited players (with one special celebrity guest), which is one of the reasons the event is such a hot ticket for the pros.

With registration open between 2 and 8 pm yesterday the 35 open spots sold out easily which required today’s live lottery to see who would be in and who would be out.

Here are the 35 players who will take a seat in the 2017 Super High Roller Bowl:

1 Christian Christner
2 Antonio Esfandiari
3 Igor Kurganov
4 Matt Berkey
5 Connor Drinan
6 Steffen Sontheimer
7 Jake Schindler
8 Pratyush Buddiga
9 Rainer Kempe
10 Sean Winter
11 John Juanda
12 Dominik Nitsche
13 Christoph Vogelsang
14 Stefan Schillhabel
15 Andrew Robl
16 Brian Rast
17 Bryn Kenney
18 Fedor Holz
19 David Peters
20 Jason Les
21 Ben Tollerene
22 Tom Marchese
23 Erik Seidel
24 Sam Soverel
25 Scott Seiver
26 Ankush Mandavia
27 David Einhorn
28 Nick Petrangelo
29 Haralabos Voulgaris
30 Isaac Haxton
31 Andrew Lichtenberger
32 Doug Polk
33 Ben Sulsky
34 Byron Kaverman
35 Koray Aldemir

And the 19 players who will recollect their deposit and sit this one out:

Adrian Mateos
Talal Shakerchi
Stephen Chidwick
Max Silver
Jason Koon
Sergio Aido
Jonathan Jaffe
Daniel Negreanu
Zach Hyman
Justin Bonomo
Daniel Colman
Jan-Eric Schwippert
Dan Smith
Darren Elias
Max Altergott
Bill Klein
Dan Shak
Jason Mercier
Charlie Carrel

It remains to be seen if there will be any swapping/buying of seats or if some of those players will be eligible for or receive one of the 15 reserved seats.

Negreanu, for one, still has hope for an invite:

My ball was the very next ball to be chosen! Didn’t make the cut to play the SHRB but am hopeful I’m chosen for one of 15 reserved spots.

— Daniel Negreanu (@RealKidPoker) February 3, 2017

You can watch a full replay of the live lottery today at Aria right here.

Visit www.pokerlistings.com