Sexton, Serock, Kempe Highlight Final 18 at LAPC

Mike Sexton had to wait 14 seasons to win a World Poker Tour but he’s got a shot at winning a second title in considerably less time.

Sexton is eighth in chips with 908,000 with just 15 players remaining in the prestigious L.A. Poker Classic event at Commerce Casino.

It was only back in November that Sexton out-dueled Benny Chen to win his first WPT title.

California native Daniel Strelitz is the overall chip leader with 2.02 million but the final 18 is littered with big names including Joe Serock (1.18 million), Matt Berkey (1.11 million) and Rainer Kempe (798,000).

Cynn Looks for Redemption

Another notable face in the final 18 at Commerce is none other than John Cynn, who finished 11th in the 2016 WSOP Main Event.

John Cynn IMG 9107

John Cynn

Cynn will look to avoid the final-table bubble this time around and hopefully grab a significant chunk of the $5m prize pool offered at the LAPC this year.

There are plenty of storylines in the final 18, however, as Allan Le is second in chips with 1.6m and prominent East Coast grinder Jesse Martin is right behind him with 1.5 million.

Polish sensation Dzmitry Urbanovich will attempt a world-class comeback with 288,000 chips. Urbanovich is perhaps most well-known for his record-setting hot streak at EPT Malta that saw him win four separate titles.

Play will resume today at 12 p.m. PT today and will continue until the final table of six players is set. You can follow along in real-time via the WPT live updates.

Here’s a complete look at the chip counts at the end of Day 4:

1. Daniel Strelitz – 2,020,000
2. Allan Le – 1,680,000
3. Jesse Martin – 1,581,000
4. Joe Serock – 1,157,00
5. Matt Berkey – 1,118,000
6. William Vo – 1,081,000
7. John Cynn – 922,000
8. Mike Sexton – 908,000
9. Rainer Kempe – 798,000
10. Richard Tuhrim – 753,000
11. Donald Maloney – 727,000
12. Jared Griener – 618,000
13. Matt Schultz – 577,000
14. Simeon Naydenov – 448,000
15. Visnja Leutic – 365,000
16. James Calderaro – 318,000
17. Dzmitry Urbanovich – 288,000
18. Dean Baranowski – 273,000