Sinishtaj Upsets Colman to Win SHRPO Championship for $661k

High-stakes icon Dan Colman illustrated the precipitous nature of No-Limit Hold’em in a stunning turn of events at the final table of the 2017 WPT Seminole Hard Rock Poker Open Championship on Wednesday.

Colman, who won this event in 2014, entered the final table as the chip leader and was still cruising with four players left.

In two rapid-fire hands, he was out of the tournament.

Colman had the misfortune of getting his aces cracked by Tony Sinishtaj’s runner-runner flush in a massive pot and then got stuck in a three-way all-in with deuces to bust in fourth place.

With Colman out of the way Sinishtaj bulldozed his way to the win, eventually overcoming Darryll Fish to take down the $661k.

Darryll Fish Takes Second for $453k

Tony Sinishtaj has a had a solid career with over $500k but nothing approaching the massive $661,283 that came with the SHRPO win. It was his first WPT cash.

“It feels great,” said Sinishtaj. “It’s really hard to put into words. This has been a long time coming.”

Darryll Fish IMG 2310

Darryll Fish

Sinishtaj also received entry into the $15,000 buy-in WPT Tournament of Champions, which takes place in a couple days.

“It’s something I’ve never even dreamed of,” said Sinishtaj. “That part hasn’t even sunk in yet. I can’t wait.”

On the other hand long-time pro Darryll Fish will have to wait another day for his first major title.

Fish has nearly $3m in lifetime live tournament earnings and several high-profile runner-up finishes but no WPT, WSOP or EPT titles.

Fish, who had a crowd of fish hat-wearing friends and family cheering him at the SHRPO final table, got heads-up against Sinishtaj and even held the chip lead at a certain point but lost it when he made an ill-timed shove with pocket deuces and Sinishtaj snapped him off with sevens.

Meanwhile Robert Mizrachi added to the Mizrachi family’s considerable success in their home state by finishing third for $293,864.

Here’s a complete look at the final table payouts:

1. Tony Sinishtaj – $661,283
2. Darryll Fish – $453,185
3. Robert Mizrachi – $293,864
4. Dan Colman – $217,686
5. Eric Beller – $164,438
6. Simeon Naydenov – $132,889